Review: Star Wars, Issue 01 2015

Writer: Aaron, Jason
Artist: Cassaday, John
Cover Artist: Cassaday, John
Publisher: Marvel
On Sale: January 14, 2015

I’ll spare you the epic tale of who, how and why I’m a Star Wars fan. To say the least, I was excited to hear about this series. It takes place after the Death Star is destroyed. With the loss of their uber-planet-killing-laser the Empire was vulnerable.  Luke, Han, Leia, Chewie and the droids are on path of destruction to weaken the Empire further. Issue 1 has all the big hitters, Han, Luke, Chewie, Liea, R2, Darth, C3-PO (*I am I a bad fan if I can’t spell c3p0?). It’s a very promising book.

intro01

I’ve got to say I felt like  a kid reading this. Aesthetic wise, it was spot on with the Star Wars I know and love. The cast has landed on an Empire Installation to see what can be done to stop it. Every character has its moment in the light but it doesn’t feel forced. The pacing of the writing and action is very similar to the movies. Some page turns had me doing a double take and turning the page again. The characters feel very familiar, but in the best of ways their banter was spot on.

chew01

There is a one particular scene that’s convinced me to add this series to my pull list for now.  If you haven’t read it and you’re trying to stay SPOILER free then STOP here and skip the italic bit below.

****SPOILER****

Vader and Luke battle sort of! Vader spares him and they talk for a moment. You can tell Vader is interested in who Luke is and I’m excited to see what he does to find out. I never thought about this section of the cannon but I really want to see where it goes.

As far as the art goes, it’s a very authentic feel you can almost see one of the original movies playing out. The faces on some panels may be approaching that uncanny valley look but overall its very enjoyable. The coloring, (do you call it that?) is realistic and sharp, the shadowing done helps and may be contributing to that uncanny valley thing. The text density is average and in very legible bubbles. The writing is witty and drips in references to the past present and future of the Star Wars universe. The Action panels are gorgeously illustrated, along with of course, the lightsabering we’ve all been waiting for. (no, not the tri-blade saber you hipster.)

leianHan01

I’ve added this series to my pull list for the summer at least for the first two arcs, to really give it a shot. This issue sold over a million copies so its safe to say all eyes are on Marvel to see what happens to the rag tag Rebels.

Look for my Star Wars Arc 1 review later this fall after the 6th issue is released where I’ll talk about the character and plot arcs. I’ll be reviewing Weirdworld another Marvel title bye Jason Aaron coming out in June as well. Please let me know what you think of the issue/series, the characters, the weather or the Wookies on twitter @This_isWater.

May the 4th be with you.

– V

Leave a Reply

